Home Page

Stefan's Florilegium

Perf-P-Feast-msg



This document is also available in: text or RTF formats.

Perf-P-Feast-msg - 11/28/09

 

Reviews, comments and the handout for the Perfectly Period Feast cooked by Mistress Crystal of the Westermark at a West Kingdom Collegium in April 2008. The food was excellent but even more impressive was the medieval atmosphere projected, from the serving staff to the medieval table customs and medieval tables and benches. An excellent example of a medieval feast "done right".

 

NOTE: See also the files: Just-a-Feast-art, Kentwell-Hall-art, Good-Fd-Feast-art, French-Tbl-Srv-art, Handwashing-art, Medievl-Feasts-art, p-feasts-msg, p-menus-msg, Servng-Roylty-art.

 

************************************************************************

NOTICE -

 

This file is a collection of various messages having a common theme that I have collected from my reading of the various computer networks. Some messages date back to 1989, some may be as recent as yesterday.

 

This file is part of a collection of files called Stefan's Florilegium. These files are available on the Internet at: http://www.florilegium.org

 

I have done a limited amount of editing. Messages having to do with separate topics were sometimes split into different files and sometimes extraneous information was removed. For instance, the message IDs were removed to save space and remove clutter.

 

The comments made in these messages are not necessarily my viewpoints. I make no claims as to the accuracy of the information given by the individual authors.

 

Please respect the time and efforts of those who have written these messages. The copyright status of these messages is unclear at this time. If information is published from these messages, please give credit to the originator(s).

 

Thank you,

    Mark S. Harris                  AKA:  THLord Stefan li Rous

                                          Stefan at florilegium.org

************************************************************************

 

Date: Sun, 27 Apr 2008 13:49:17 -0700

From: David Friedman <ddfr at daviddfriedman.com>

Subject: [Sca-cooks] A very impressive feast

To: Cooks within the SCA <sca-cooks at lists.ansteorra.org>

 

Yesterday Elizabeth and I attended a West Kingdom Collegium which

ended with a small feast--about 44 guests. The food, so far as I

could tell, was all from 14th-15th c. English cookbooks, and

competently done, which was nice.

 

But what was really impressive was the organization of the feast. The

people responsible had done a lot of research on serving, behavior

expected of guests, and the like. They trained their

servers--including all categories from feast marshall down I think it

came to about fifteen or twenty people--in advance, and they provided

a handout and a verbal explanation to the guests in advance. They had

built suitable benches for the guests, provided period spoons, used

period knives (used by the servers, not the guests), had all servers

in garb of the proper period, and managed a good many other things

right.

 

For details see:

 

http://www.caldarium.org/collegium/?q=node/3">http://www.caldarium.org/collegium/?q=node/3

 

Has anyone else done this sort of thing at this level before?

--

David/Cariadoc

http://www.daviddfriedman.com">www.daviddfriedman.com

 

 

Date: Sun, 27 Apr 2008 19:18:31 -0700

From: Lilinah <lilinah at earthlink.net>

Subject: Re: [Sca-cooks] A very impressive feast

To: sca-cooks at ansteorra.org

 

Daniel Myers <edoard at medievalcookery.com> wrote:

> On Apr 27, 2008, at 4:49 PM, David Friedman wrote:

>> Yesterday Elizabeth and I attended a West Kingdom Collegium which

>> ended with a small feast--about 44 guests. The food, so far as I

>> could tell, was all from 14th-15th c. English cookbooks, and

>> competently done, which was nice.

> [...]

>> For details see:

>> http://www.caldarium.org/collegium/?q=node/3

>>

>> Has anyone else done this sort of thing at this level before?

>

> I haven't seen this sort of thing before, but you've now pretty much

> guaranteed something like this will be happening in our region.

> Thank you very, very much for posting this!  I think you've just

> restored my faith in the SCA.

>

> - Doc

 

The feast was quite amazing (except for the unavoidable fluorescent

lights). Because this was presented as a class, they could serve

alcohol to the adult diners and special food to the high table. The

hand out was 8 pages, including URLs to pictures and sources, and a

nice bibliography.

 

We were all seated in order of *medieval* precedence, *not* SCA

precedence. There was a Marshall of the Hall, a Yeoman of the Ewery

(hand washing and table linens), a Panter (bread, salt, & knives), a

Butler (spices, wine, ale, & spoons). And each table of six - all

seated only on one side facing into the U - had its own server and

carver.

 

The tables were arranged in a "horseshoe"/U with the High Table at

the "bottom" of the U. The details of the seating arrangement is on

the web site. They provided historical reproduction benches with

cushions, table linens, salt dishes, trenchers, cups, spoons, and

napkins. We didn't need to bring any feast gear! Historically at such

a feast there were 2 cups/glasses per person, however the presenters

didn't have enough. If I'd known, I'd have brought my own historical

reproduction beaker. But I understand why things were the way they

were: the presenters wanted to avoid inappropriate personal feastware.

 

Our hosts were kind enough to have made one of the stuffed chickens

without pork for the two of us they knew about - and who ended up

completely by chance at the same table. This was fortuitous when His

Grace and his lady decided to attend, so he could also partake as

well.

 

It was so inspiring, I spent most of the meal in persona (which i can

do, but rarely feel inspired to). I'm fairly strongly left handed, so

i generally eat with my left hand. But part way through the meal i

realized i was eating only with my right, except to tear the bread,

as was appropriate for my persona. Because of this I didn't taste the

wine or the ale, which i think was brewed for the event. I contented

myself with water and Clarea d'Agua. I exchanged interesting

conversation about humors and such with the other diner who was

forgoing pork, a woman in what she said was the current Burgundian

fashion. And the King and Queen were kind enough to send some of

their special food to some of the other guests, so i got to have some

of the Crusted Lamb Roast, which was excellent.

 

Afterwards Crystal said she'd chosen the recipes to show off the

carvers' skills and she thought some tasted a bit dull. On the one

hand, this was true. But on the other, wow! It was such a different

experience from our usual family-style feasts. It was almost like

stepping into a painting.

 

And the team made many of the items themselves: they cast the pewter

spoons, made all the serving ceramics, built the benches, sewed the

napkins and towels and cushions and the wonderful garb, etc. Of

course some was purchased: the table linens came from

HistoricalReproductions, the knives were also purchased, and most of

the drinking vessels were loaned by team members.

 

Besides all the work to make so make items, the various servers,

carvers, etc. had to take several classes over the preceding year to

prepare. You might want to correspond with Crystal, once she has

recovered.

--

Urtatim (that's err-tah-TEEM)

the persona formerly known as Anahita

 

 

From: Carole Smith <cnewsonsmith at yahoo.com>

Date: April 29, 2008 10:22:34 PM CDT

To: stefanlirous at austin.rr.com

Subject: another writeup regarding the 1480's feast last weekend

 

Stefan,

 

Crystal said you'd like to add my write-up to the Florilegium. Here you go!

Ask questions if need be.

 

Cordelia Toser

 

It was great fun to participate as a server in the Perfectly Period Feast yesterday.  I'd never cross dressed before, and was pretty pleased with the way things fit, but I want to re-do the front fastening on the doublet.  Too bad the weather was so warm in Sacramento, because my joined hosen were wool.  Fortunately my doublet was linen, so I was less uncomfortable than some in the warm hall.

 

I am still staggered at the amount of research that went into making the PPF happen.  SCA folk are always good at working hard for an event, and the visuals were well done.  The curtain between the feast hall and the diners, the cloth of honor behind the head table, the amazing benches which had been made for the occasion, the loaned reproduction drinking glasses, the matching (again loaned) tablecloths all added a huge amount to the "right" look.

 

All the worker bees dressed well, and many dinner guests went to the effort of wearing suitable clothing for 1480.

 

The food was yummy, and beautifully prepared.  As a server, I nearly ran my little legs off, as I quickly found that there was more required of me than just bringing in full dishes and returning empty one to the cooks.  Duke Cariadoc and Elizabeth were at "my" end of the high table, and I was sent multiple times to the kitchen to find out about ingredients that he (in persona as always) could not eat.  Fortunately (for me at least) there was a separate butler's table close by with pitchers of beverages  for the high table.

 

As we all settled into the feast/class, at most tables we as servers and carvers began bantering with those we were serving.  At one point during the feast I mentioned to the Queen that I'd learned the beautiful napkins they wore (over their right shoulders) had been decorated by Mistress Diane de Winchester and She might wish to speak to her about it.   After the feast I learned that Mistress D had been sent cheese from the high table. Coincidence?  I think not.

One silliness I participated in to was when I was sent to inquire whether 3 ladies at another table were properly watering their wine. They were clearly having a great time and were laughing a lot.

 

I'm a little sore today, mostly in the upper legs from all the bowing and kneeling.  My body has reminded me that it's high time I got back to the gym and started back at getting myself in shape.

 

Carl (aka Cordelia)

 

 

Date: Tue, 1 Sep 2009 12:11:23 -0700

From: David Friedman <ddfr at daviddfriedman.com>

To: Cooks within the SCA <sca-cooks at lists.ansteorra.org>

Subject: Re: [Sca-cooks] "Perfectly Period Feast"

 

> Yes, it sounded like a *wonderful* feast,

 

I was at an event a little later at which Vyncent, one of the people

responsible, got his Laurel. His mother was there and I had the

pleasure of telling her that I had been in the Society for longer

than her son had been alive, and it was the best done feast I had

ever seen.

--

David Friedman

www.daviddfriedman.com

daviddfriedman.blogspot.com/

 

 

From: Carolyn Eaton <cj at goldenstag.net>

Date: April 30, 2008 1:55:45 AM CDT

To: stefanlirous at austin.rr.com

Subject: Review of the Perfectly Period Feast

 

Master Stefan,

Mistress Crystal of the Westermark asked me to send my review of her Perfectly Period Feast for the Florilegium site.  

 

--Aldith

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Review of the Perfectly Period Feast of 26 April 2008, at Collegium Occidentalis:

by Aldith Angharad St. George (originally posted on Live Journal)

 

The "Perfectly Period Feast" was the centerpiece of Collegium, and was so wonderfully done, that I have to lead off with that.

 

First, the fact that the preparations for it took months really showed - the overall production was coherent, and you really got the sense of what an upper-class feast c. 1480 would have been like. While we all would have benefited from a hall with air circulation in it, that and assorted other (little) problems were pretty easy to edit out.

 

For us, as ersatz nobles, the culture shock was palpable. This was not the feast to go to to schmooze & overeat. The ceremony was at least as important as the food, so both the servant staff and the feasters are constrained by those rules. For example, the carver at your table would serve you very small portions on your small bread trencher, and you would eat the carefully cut up small food bits with your spoon. If you wanted more, you had to ask for it. Similarly, if you wanted a drink, you had to ask for that, and each time the server brought drink, they took the glass away when you were done.

 

It was also interesting that much of the serving protocol was about cleanliness. It was almost like a Hygiene Ballet, if there is such a thing. The overall result was that you got fed, but in a rigidly civilized manner.

 

The food itself was VERY! good - the fish, the roast chicken stuffed with whole grapes and the plum goo were standout. The parsnips were even good. The wine and the "flavored water" were good, too.

 

That's not to say there wasn't plenty of goofing going on - in this group, who could help it? But it kind of had to be snuck in, so as not to disrupt the proceedings. Our carver, Brian, should have gotten some kind of award for maintaining a professional demeanor while carving the parsnip-that-looked-like-a-thingie into small, bite-sized bits for us.

 

I was seriously impressed by the number & quality of the hand-hemmed napkins. It makes my sewing hand twitch when I think of it. I was happy that the nine breadcloths (portpains) I made as my contribution to the feast worked. I had been given an copy of an illustration from The Book of Kervynge

to work from, but you just don't know how it's going to go until you actually do it.  I must say [Wulfric of Creigull] and I had a lot of fun working out how to fold the trenchers into the portpains.

 

There's more, of course - it will be interesting to see what the other "reviews" on LJ will say.

 

 

From: "Johanna Ludwiga" <johannaludwiga at earthlink.net>

Date: April 30, 2008 7:02:41 PM CDT

To: <stefanlirous at austin.rr.com>

Subject: PPF Review

 

Crystal of the Westermark asked me to pass along my review of the Perfectly

Period Feast that was from this past weekend. I am including it below.

 

Johanna Ludwiger von Hertesbergk

mka Jen Good

 

It was mighty warm at the Collegium site, which otherwise was very nice.

Once the sun went down the hall cooled appreciably, but we were all still

baking off the extra heat. The lessons about sitting and serving before the

feast were really neat. I felt badly that no one stuck around for the

Q&A session afterwards, but we were just too darn hot.

 

I think we struggled most with not being allowed to rise if the Crown had

not. The tiny 'stand-up' breaks that Her Majesty gave us were much

appreciated. Being stuck in our seats was a bit boring until we learned how

to make our own entertainment.

 

It also took us a while to work up to asking the server for drinks, though

once we broke though our modern mentality on that one, we did much better. I

know that I should have drunk up quite a bit before we were seated. Michael

was an excellent server; he was very attentive to our needs and quite

willing to help us with our sending drinks to others entertainment. Our

first volley was a glass of "wine, slightly watered!" to Genevieve. That

exchange devolved quickly from there and was capped by the infamous cheese

snubbing, all in good fun.

 

Brian, of course, was an excellent carver. I expect that a really good

carver in period could get up to Benihana-like skills.

 

The benches were not bad generally, though we were warned about them. I

think a flatter, more cubical cushion would have been better (more like a

sofa cushion with the built-up sides than a throw pillow). I had more

trouble trying not sit on my veil than with the benches or cushions.

Unfortunately, we didn't have both cotter pins on the back rest and the

leather throng did not hold it on, so we couldn't lean back the whole time.

Between that and wearing the hennin my upper back is a bit sore today.

 

The food at the feast was the same as we had at Mists Bardic. The fish was

quite tasty and the grape stuffing was another favorite. I don't remember

the feast being so meat heavy and vegetable light before. I still love the

plum goo. Mmm... plum goo.

 

======================================================

The Following is the handout for this feast -

======================================================

 

Thank you for taking this class with us. If you have any questions feel free to ask your carver or server. If they cannot answer, please save your questions for the short Q&A session at the end of the class.

 

We're trying to serve a feast as it might have been served in a small-but-noble English household in England about 1480. Our house has some Spanish influences, both in cooking and tableware. Most of the structure of this feast is taken from The inthronization feast of George Neville, Archbishop of York, in the 6th year of Edward IV.[1]  Many of the details are from the various documents edited by Dr Fredrick Furnivall. [2]

 

You might be reading this class handout as you wait outside the hall. "When you come to a lord's gate, The porter you shall find there-at; [ask] him [where] you shall your weapon stow. And ask him leave, in to go" [3] Once inside the hall, the author reminds you to remove your hood and gloves.

 

In the late 15th century you would have taken the time to go to the bathroom and scrub before meals. "…sit not down until you have washed, but let your nails be pared before, that no dirt or yuck in them leave, …and (also) before make water, and if need requires" Due to the seating arrangements for this class, this is still excellent advice.

 

The musicians will call you to dinner, "...directs them in all festival days to their stations, to blowings and pipings, to such offices as must be warned to prepare for the king and his household at meals and suppers," [4]

 

As you enter the hall

As you come to the door you will be met by servers to assist you in the ritual washing before dinner. The water is lightly rosemary scented.

 

There are several stations around the hall, they are manned by:

Š       The Marshall is in charge of the hall. He maintains order, and assigns people to serve the head table.

Š       The Yeoman of the Ewery oversees hand washing, and is responsible for the various linens used in the hall.

Š       The Panter is responsible for bread, salt and knives. The Panter "must have 3 knives keen in pantry, I say you, evermore: one knife the loaves to chop, another them for to pare, the 3 sharp and keen to smooth the trenchers and square," [5]

Š       The Butler is responsible for spices, wine, ale, and spoons. He has two stations, one ordinary station at the side of the hall, and the King's station near the high table. Consistent with many paintings, the Countess of Linconshire was advised to "lay not the vessels designated for ale and wine upon the table, but before you, But be they laid under the table." [6]

 

The tables are covered with white cloths "If it be white, though crumpled, it may avail to serve the table; If it be dirty, and crumpled, let it be made fine by the laundress." [7] The under-cloths should be pleated "with double cloths drawn, couched, and spread unto the degree, as belongs thereto in feasts" [8]

 

The High Table is marked by the Cloth of Honor, also called the Cloth of Estate, a banner of ornate cloth set behind and above the person of highest rank. "First the Usher must see that the Hall be trimmed in every point, and that the Cloth of estate be hanged in the Hall, and that four Cushions of estate be set in order upon the Bench, being of fine Silk, or cloth of Gold," [9]

 

While in most paintings of people dining in the 15th century show simple unpadded benches, we have made benches with backs and cushions that are usually shown as high-table seating. They are based on the benches from paintings by the Master of Flemalle of the same period .

(http://www.fine-arts-museum.be/site/asp/Oeuvre_details.asp?ID=32).

 

Before you sit down

Once in the hall, you may roam around, but please do not sit until the King and Queen are seated. "The Lord has none to sit before him, except he be as good as he." [10] The King and Queen will not be seated until after they have been washed, and grace has been said. While grace is said, you need only stand still. "If this office of saying grace be put to another, both take diligent heed / & make answer with like devout manner." [11]

 

Finding your place

The Marshall and the ushers can direct you to your seat. In the 15th century you probably would have known enough about your household and your guests to know your place without help, but as we have modified the usual SCA hierarchy slightly.

 

Š        First Mess King, Queen, West Heirs, Princesses, Duke/Duchesses

Š        Second Mess Counts, Viscounts, Barons

Š        Third Mess Knights, Laurels, Pelicans, A master of science, A master of art

Š        Fourth Mess Heralds, Lords and Ladies, Squires

 

If a couple does not wish to be separated, they may sit in the places of the more senior partner. In historical practice a lady would have moved up to her husband's rank, even though a gentleman did not rise to match his more nobly born wife. "The lady of blood royal shall keep her state / that she before in stood, the lady of low blood & degree / keeps her lord's estate" [12]

 

Once the King and Queen have been seated, your servers will assist you and your messmates with your bench. Seating happens from the top of the hall down.

 

After you sit down

Set your napkin on your shoulder "If a napkin be given (to) you lay it on your right shoulder or your left." [13]

 

Your table is set with Salt, Bread, Trenchers, Napkins, and Spoons "lay every man a trencher, a napkin, and a spoon." [14]  If not, they should be brought to you before the first pottage arrives. A set of trenchers (bread plates), wrapped in their portpain is also on the table. [15] The bread will be uncovered before grace is said, and distributed before the meal begins.

 

If you are at the high table an extra table cover is on the table as a mark of honor.

 

The Code of the Towels

Towels are worn by the staff to identify their place in the hierarchy of servitors.

 

Being served

An ordinary person in the great hall spent a lot of time waiting for dinner in the 15th century. "Spare bread or wine, drink or ale, Till your dinner [from the] kitchen be set in place; Lest men say you are [by] hunger beaten" [16] When dinner is ready, a fanfare from the musicians will call your server to the sideboard where he will pick up dishes to be brought to the table. Normally the servers would be a separate function from the bearers who carried the food, but in our small household we make people work twice as hard.

 

There will be a brief pause while the King's food is tested on the bearers. Tasting and credence belongs to blood and birth Royal…Credence is used and tastings, for dread of poison. [17] The testing methods of various dishes are described in detail in The Bishop Neville's feast.  [18]

 

Normally, only the King would have a separate carver, but in interests of education we are treating every table like a high-table for this class.

 

Eating

You are faced with dinner and armed only with a spoon. Everything that reaches your trencher should be bite-sized. If it is not, you may scold your Carver.

 

I have been unable to find documentation for how people ate with their fingers in the 15th century. While there are many pictures of people eating, the people in those pictures never seem to have food in their hand or mouths, even when a contrast between virtue and vice is being depicted. In the two I've found, people are holding small morsels in their right hands, between their thumbs and index fingers. [19]   The Carvers are continually admonished to touch food with only with their left thumbs and closest fingers "Set never on fish or flesh / beast / nor fowl, truly More than 2 fingers and a thumb, for that is courtesy. Touch never with your right hand no manner meat surely, but with your left hand. as I said before, for that is goodly." [20]

 

There is a small pile of salt on your trencher, placed there by your carver when setting the table. To salt your food, dip it into the pile. If you would like more, you may take some from the salt cellar with a clean knife tip, or your very clean fingers.

 

In the pre-germ-theory days of the 15th century wiped=clean so use your napkin to clean your spoon or knife as necessary. However, your personal spoon should never go into the communal dishes, as the servers have serving spoons for this purpose. Please do not reach for the serving spoon but allow your server to assist you.

 

It's ok to ask for seconds, or to decline a dish for any reason.

 

Drinking

When you wish something to drink, catch the eye of the butler, or ask your server to bring some ale, wine or water. Ale is after the first dish comes out, and wine is served after the first roast meat is served. Only after you see the King sample the wine or ale may you ask for some. "Also at every time that the lord commands drink,...then shall the marshal call every lord's squire …and stand there in order like as they were delivered at the cellar door, …and when all the cups be filled he shall command them to go forth to the lords, …and tell them where they shall serve; and when they have all drunk the marshal shall take again all the cups …, putting the wine left in them, if any be, in a void pot of such as the butler brought. And when he has again all the said cups, he shall take them in like ways as be brought them" [21]

 

Normally, polite people would have drunk their wine watered. When you ask the butler or your server for wine, you may indicate if you would like it cut with half or a quarter water. The butler may spice the wine at his discretion to assist you in balancing your humours.

 

If you do not care to consume alcohol, you may ask for water (I'm on a fast) or for some Clarea from Water, a Spanish drink made with honey and spices.

 

Chiding others to drink oftener than they wish "is neither mannerly nor wholesome let him drink once after he has fed a while upon the second dish, especially if it be dry meat, and again at the end of the dinner or supper" [22]

Please do not panic, we're sanitizing the glasses between uses.

 

Between courses

There is a brief pause between courses to allow for the cleaning of the table and new trenchers to be placed. "All your Sovereign's Trenchers or bread, void them once or twice, especially when they are wet, or give them clean, and as you see men leave eating of the first and second dish, so void them from the Table. And then if so be you have any more courses then one or two, you may make more haste in voiding, and ever let one dish or two stand until the next course," [23]  The second course is served in the same manner as the first. When the last dish of second course comes, the salt cellar is removed.

 

Cleaning Up

Starting from the table farthest from the king to the ones closest, the spoons and other hardware is gathered, the plates taken away and the trenchers placed in a voider.

 

Giving to the Poor

At the end of the meal the almoner "shall bring in the alms dish with a loaf there in and set it beneath the lords salt or else upon the cupboard if no Room be upon the board; and a little afore the second course the almoner shall take of every standard or great meat that comes before the lord at the first course a certainty, with the help of the carver, and put it in the alms dish and send the void dishes to the kitchen" [24]

 

Washing after dinner

A second grace is said after dinner. Those at the High Table are brought water for washing. "…if your Master use to wash at the table, or standing: if he be at the table, cast a clean Towel on your table cloth, and set down your basin and Ewer before your master, and take the ewer in your hand, and give them water." [25]  After the high table has washed, everyone seated at the ordinary tables may go to the ewery stations for washing.

 

Standing

The King will take his last drink of Ale sitting down, and the Marshall signals when it is time to stand. Stand in the reverse order of sitting, so the King stands last.

The King drinks his last drink of wine standing up. "Then the Lord must drink Wine standing, and all other in like manner, and that done, every man departs at his good pleasure" [26] After this, you are free to move about the hall again. The servers will continue to clear the tables and take the cloths away.

 

Dessert

During the Q&A session the servers will circulate with sweetmeats and snacks.

"Let a napkin contain wafers, spices, fruits, gaufres, light cakes, When they are served to the lords." [27] "And if there be knight or lady or great gentle-woman, they shall be served upon knee with … Junket, cherries, pears, and such novelties as the time of the year requires; or else green ginger comfits, with such things as winter requires; and sweet wines, as hippocras" [28]

 

Menu

 

Some meat-free or dairy-free versions of these dishes are available, please ask your server to accommodate your needs.  While these dishes were all selected from 15th century sources, and ordered as closely as we could to 15th century menus, we took some liberties in choosing those that are more interesting to serve.

 

Frumenty: wheat, water, salt, goat milk, saffron, venison braised in wine, beef broth and goose fat [29] (Austin pp 6-7 . viij. Venyson with Furmenty)

 

Noodles: spaghetti noodles, chicken broth, and parmesan cheese (Cuenca, pp 31 Pottage of Noodles) [30]

 

Spiced Ale: Ale, Hyssop, Rosemary, sweet gale, spikenard, Honey, cubebs, grains of paradise, galingale, and canel. [31] (Hieatt, pp145 Clarry and Braggot)

 

Spiced Honey Drink: water, honey, cinnamon, cloves; ginger (Cuenca, pp 16 Water Clarea)

 

Stuffed Chicken: chicken, parsley, olive oil, egg yolks, pepper, ginger, cinnamon, saffron, salt, cloves, grapes, pork (Austin, pp 41 .xxxv Capon or gos farced.)

 

White Sauce: almonds, vinegar, water, ginger, salt (Austin, pp 110 White sauce for capons cooked)

 

Cold Cheese Pie: goat cheese, eggs, sugar, butter, salt and crust (flour, butter, water and salt) (Austin, pp 75 Lese fryes.)

Fish in wine sauce: whole fish, wine, cinnamon, ginger, vinegar, oil, salt and crust (flour, butter, water and salt) (Austin, pp 103 Sole, boiled, roast or fried)

 

Plum pudding: plums, red wine, rice flour, sugar, ginger, cloves, mace, and cinnamon. Garnished with pears, dates, spice powder (ginger, cinnamon, grains of paradise, cloves, sugar) (Austin, pp 24-25 .Ciiij. Bolas)

 

Hot Veal Pie: veal, parsley, sage, savory, basil, pepper, cinnamon, cloves, mace, white wine, egg, dates, ginger, salt and crust (flour, butter, water and salt) (Austin, pp 50-51 .xvj. Crustade.)

 

Roast Carrots and Parsnips: carrots, parsnips, olive oil, salt (Enrique de Aragon Villena Arte cisoria)

 

Almond rice: rice, almonds, water, sugar or honey (Austin, pp 22 .lxxxvj. Rys.)

 

Pig in Sage sauce: pig, sage, egg, vinegar, pepper, ginger, salt, and sage leaves fried in butter as a garnish. (Austin, pp 72 Pigge or chicken in Sage)

 

Sage Sauce: sage, ginger, galingale, cloves, eggs, and white vinegar (Austin, pp 28 .Cxvij. Sage.)

 

Mustard  [32] (Furnivall, pp 164)

 

Lamb roast: lamb, dried cherries, red wine, salt, breadcrumbs, tarragon, oregano, thyme, mint, sorrel, basil, parsley, and rosemary [33] (Parzen, pp 50 How to prepare a fine roast)

 

Ginger sauce: breadcrumbs, vinegar, ginger, cinnamon (Ancient Cookery in Household Ordinances pp 441)

 

Creme Bustard contains: egg whites, milk, salt, cream, sugar, vinegar (Austin, pp 33 .Clj. CrŹme Bastarde.)

 

Wafers: unflavored gelatin, cheese, egg whites, flour, salt, sugar, ginger (Austin, pp 39. xxiiij Waffers.)

 

Things you, and you local group, can do to create a more period feast hall

 

EASY--

white table cloths, one-side seating, wine poured out of bottles into pitchers, male servers, salt cellars, ask guests to use smaller plates, server's towels, learn to carve pies

 

MEDIUM –

learn to carve a chicken, hand-washing, free standing pie crusts

 

HARD –

Benches, trenchers, period serving ware (or at least not plastic)

 

Stuff you can buy

Table cloths, towels, knives, pitchers and glassware are all at Historic Enterprises, http://www.historicenterprises.com/

 

Glasses from The Northerner, follow the links to historical collections http://www.northerner.com/index.html

 

Pewter trenchers, cups, salt cellars and spoons from Billy and Charlie http://www.billyandcharlie.com/misc.html

 

Plates, spoons, pitchers are in England at Pewter Replicas, follow the link to departments: http://www.pewterreplicas.com/default.asp

 

Free Books:

Š        The Babees Book By Frederick James Furnivall (scanned version) http://books.google.com/books?id=KQYrAAAAIAAJ&;printsec=frontcover&dq=The+Babees+Book

Š        The Babees Book By Frederick James Furnivall (transcription•       ) http://quod.lib.umich.edu/cgi/t/text/text-idx?c=cme;cc=cme;view=toc;idno=AHA6127.0001.001

Š        Caxton's Book of Curtesye by Frederick J. Furnivall http://www.archive.org/stream/caxtonsbookofcur14761gut/14761.txt

Š        Austin, Thomas. 1888. Two fifteenth-century cookery-books. Harleian ms. 279 (ab. 1430), & Harl. ms. 4016 (ab. 1450), with extracts from Ashmole ms. 1429, Laud ms. 553, & Douce ms. 55 http://ia331339.us.archive.org/1/items/twofifteenthcent00austuoft/twofifteenthcent00austuoft.pdf

 

For this feast, we've tried to reproduce a number of historical artifacts, as well as researching intangible historical behavior. The individuals listed below have given freely of their time and resources to make this feast possible. Thank you all very much.

Senior Hall Staff

Marshall: John Theophilus

Butler: Tangwystyl verch Morgant Glasvryn

Panter: Wulfric of Creigull

Yeoman of the Ewrie: Vyncent atte Wodegate

Almoner: János Mihály

Carvers Lead: Geoffrey Mathias

Ivar Hakonarson, Juan Santiago, Rose de Le Mans, János Mihály, Brian FitzWilliam of Glastonbury, Vyncent atte Wodegate and Klaus Rother von Schweinichen

Servers Lead: Etain du Pommier

Cordelia Tosere, Rosario de la Torre, Godric of Castlemont, Sefa Eiriksdottir, Michael Anderburg, Nicole Anderburg, and Brandr Viobjorn  

Cooks/Kitchen Staff Lead: Crystal of the Westermark

Flidais ní Eitigen, Anna Serra, Wulfric of Creigull, Juana Isabella de Montoya y Ramirez, Effric neyn Ken3ocht, and Alef of King's Crossing

Pies and Garnish Lead: Juana Isabella de Montoya y Ramirez

Christian de Holacombe, Cordelia Tosere, Crystal of the Westermark, and Tangwystyl verch Morgant Glasvryn

Music

'A'isha bint Khalil al Herati, Aldric of the Northmark, and Vittoria Aureli

 

Spoons! Lead: Geoffrey Matthias.

Crystal of the Westermark, Cynthia Barnes, Donata Bonacorsi, Effric neyn Ken3ocht, Flidais ní Eitigen, Gelis of Balweary, John Theophilus, Tangwystyl verch Morgant Glasvryn, Vyncent atte Wodegate, and Vittoria Aureli

 

Linens

Napkins and Tablecloths: Crystal of the Westermark, Cynthia Barnes, Etain du Pommier, GeneviŹve de Vendome, Johanna Ludwiger von Hertesbergk, Vyncent atte Wodegate, Sophie Xylander and friends.

Portpaines: Aldith Angharad St. George

 

Benches Lead: Vyncent atte Wodegate

Crystal of the Westermark, Donata Bonacorsi, Etain du Pommier, Flidais ní Eitigen, Gelis of Balweary, Geoffrey Matthias, János Mihály, John Theophilus, Juana Isabella de Montoya y Ramirez, Tangwystyl verch Morgant Glasvryn, Vittoria Aureli, and Wulfric of Creigul.

 

Pottery Lead: Geoffrey Matthias.

Crystal of the Westermark and Flidais ní Eitigen

 

Special thanks for loan of tables, chairs, serving ware, tablecloths, music stands, curtains, etc:  Eliska z Jihlava, Geoffrey Matthias, János Mihály, John Theophilus, Juan Santiago, Marguerite du Royon, Rose de Le Mans, Wulfric of Creigul, Vyncent atte Wodegate, and a host of others.

 

This feast has been sponsored by Tangwystyl verch Morgant Glasvryn in honor of her upcoming birthday.

 

Foonotes:

 

[1] Warner, Richard. ANTIQUITATES CULINARIAE; or curious Tracts relating to the Culinary affairs of the Old English, With a preliminary discourse, Notes, and Illustrations. London: Printed for R. Blamire, 1791.

 

[2] Furnivall, Frederick James. The babees book, Aristotle's A B C, Urbanitatis, Stans puer ad mensam, the lytille childrenes lytil boke, the bokes of nurture of Hugh Rhodes and John Russell, Wynkyn de Worde's Boke of keruynge, the booke of demeanor, the boke of curtasye, Seager's Schoole of vertue, &c. &c. with some French and Latin poems on like subjects, and some forewords on education in early England. London: Pub. for the Early English Text Society, by N. Trübner & Co. 1868.

 

[3] Furnivall, FJ. "Boke of Curtasye" Sloane MS 1986 in the British Museum, 1430-40 A. D. pp300

 

[4] The household of Edward IV: the black book and the Ordinance of 1478. [Manchester, Eng.] Manchester University Press [1959] by R A Myers. page 131

 

[5] Furnivall, FJ. John Russell's Boke of Nuture [Harl. MS. 4011, Fol. 171.] circa 1460 Line 50-52

 

[6] Bp. Grosstest's Household Statutes. Sloane MS 1986 (ab. 1450-60)  The Babees Book, Furnivall pp329

 

[7] Furnivall, FJ. The Way of Dining. [Englished literally] from Modus Cenandi [Cotton MS. Titus A xx., fol. 175ro.] pp 35-

 

[8] Furnivall, FJ. Anonymous Ffor to Serve a Lord. Pp 366

 

[9] Warner, Richard. The Bishop Neville Feast 1467 pp99

 

[10] Warner, Richard. The Bishop Neville Feast 1467 pp102

 

[11] 1540 English translation of Erasmus' 1526 Civility for Boys

 

[12] Furnivall, FJ. John Russell's Boke of Nuture [Harl. MS. 4011, Fol. 171.] circa 1460. Pp 190

 

[13] 1540 English translation of Erasmus' 1526 Civility for Boys

 

[14] Furnivall, FJ.. "Bokes of Nurture" by Hugh Rhodes. Page 66

 

[15] Some of our table settings have been adapted from Peter Brears' reconstructions in Worde, Wynkyn de, and Peter C. D. Brears. 2003. The boke of keruynge: (the book of carving). East Sussex: Southover Press.

 

[16]  Furnivall, FJ. Boke of Curtasye Sloane MS 1986 in the British Museum, 1430-40 A. D. pp300 line 43-45

 

[17] Furnivall, FJ., John Russell's Boke of Nuture [Harl. MS. 4011, Fol. 171.] circa 1460 Line 1195-1199

 

[18] Warner, Richard. The Bishop Neville Feast 1467 pp102

 

[19] The best picture is on pp 85 of Katie Stewart's Joy of Eating but she does not clearly cite her source.

 

[20] Furnivall, FJ., John Russell's Boke of Nuture [Harl. MS. 4011, Fol. 171.] circa 1460 Line 325-329

 

[21] A Fifteenth-Century Courtesy Book and Two Franciscan Rules. Edited by Walter Seaton. Pages 11- 17

 

[22] 1540 English translation of Erasmus' 1526 Civility for Boys

 

[23] Furnivall, FJ. The boke of Nurture, or Schoole of Good Manners by Hugh Rhodes pp68

 

[24] A Fifteenth-Century Courtesy Book and Two Franciscan Rules. Edited by Walter Seaton. Pages 11- 17

 

[25] Furnivall, FJ. "Bokes of Nurture" of Hugh Rhodes. Page 68

 

[26] Warner, Richard. The Bishop Neville Feast 1467 pp105

 

[27] Furnivall, FJ. The Way of Dining. [Englished literally] from Modus Cenandi [Cotton MS. Titus A xx., fol. 175ro.] pp 35

 

[28] Frederick Furnivall, FJ. Anonymous "Ffor to Serve a Lord". pp 373

 

[29] Austin, Thomas. 1888. Two fifteenth-century cookery-books. Harleian ms. 279 (ab. 1430), & Harl. ms. 4016 (ab. 1450), with extracts from Ashmole ms. 1429, Laud ms. 553, & Douce ms. 55. London: Pub. for the Early English text Society by N. Trübner & Co.

 

[30] Cuenca, Vincent. 2001. The "Libro de Cozina" of Master Ruperto de Nola. Published Privately.

 

[31] Hieatt, Constance B., and Sharon Butler. 1985. Curye on Inglysch: English culinary manuscripts of the fourteenth century (including the Forme of cury). London: Published for the Early English Text Society by the Oxford University Press

 

[32] Furnivall, FJ., John Russell's Boke of Nuture [Harl. MS. 4011, Fol. 171.] circa 1460 Line 686-689

 

[33] Maestro Martino, Luigi Ballerini, Jeremy Parzen, and Stefania Barzini. 2005. The art of cooking: the first modern cookery book. Berkeley: University of California Press.

 

This handout is copyright  2008  by Crystal A. Larsen, 116 O'Keefe St Menlo Park CA 94025.  <Crystal_isaac at hotmail.com>. Permission is granted for republication in SCA-related publications, provided the author is credited. Addresses change, but a reasonable attempt should be made to

ensure that the author receives a copy.

 

<the end>



Formatting copyright © Mark S. Harris (THLord Stefan li Rous).
All other copyrights are property of the original article and message authors.

Comments to the Editor: stefan at florilegium.org